Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

Confess - Colleen Hoover

My rating: ★★★★★

Confession: this was my first Colleen Hoover read… It’s also the first romance book I’ve ever been interested enough to finish in just one day.

This is by far THE most impressive romance novel I have ever read. You can quote me on that, seeing as how romance is NOT at all my genre. So if you’re like me and romance is usually a no-no for you, you will STILL enjoy this. It’s more than just a romance novel.

Colleen Hoover impressively touches on a lot of real life enigmas. There are plenty of elements and incidents in this book that exists TODAY. To REAL people, in REAL life, no matter how much of a fiction this novel is.

This book was capable of making me feel ALL of the emotions possible. I found myself hurt, and then angry, and then happy, and then disappointed, and then sympathetic. I was able to feel pity, remorse, disgust, melancholy. You name it, I probably felt it while reading this book. I felt like I didn’t only READ this book, I LIVED it. This book even made me fall in love all over again with my boyfriend… I swear. Ya, that good.

One quotation from this book really stood out to me: 

“If I had known you would show up at my door one day, I’d have done everything differently.” 

I don’t know, maybe it’s the way it’s such a relatable thing. Have you ever felt like you love someone so much that sometimes you think that they deserve so much better than you can give them? That if you were given the chance, you’d do things differently so you could give them everything that they deserve and more? Ever been so in love that you would do anything…anything to make sure that they’re always going to be taken care of and protected? If you’ve felt those things before, those feelings will be awaken again by this book. And if you haven’t felt them before, this book will show you what that’s like.

PS, isn’t it funny that I finished this book on its one year anniversary (March 18, 2016)!? That could be fate, you know? 😉

One comment

Leave a Reply

