Book to Movie Wishlist Tag

I really enjoyed doing the ‘Day and Night’ book tag so I thought I’d go ahead and look for another fun book tag online. I found this one from www.dreamlandbookblog.wordpress.comΒ and I wanted to give it a shot! πŸ™‚

It’s a very simple book tag. Basically, you just choose five books you want to be adapted as a movie or a TV series and explain why. So here are my five picks!

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

You guys might not know this, but The Night Circus was my #1 favourite read of 2015. It was just such a magical, whimsical read! I had a hard time picking up another book after reading it. I fell so in love with the all of the characters in the book and the circus itself! I think I would like to see Tim Burton tackle this one. I feel like he’s the only one I’d trust to bring a book such as this to life, successfully.

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl/The Awakening of Sunshine Girl byΒ Paige Mckenzie

I know that The Haunting of Sunshine Girl is already a very popular webseries on YouTube (I haven’t seen them myself), but I think they would be great if they were adapted as movies! I just haven’t read a unique horror story in such a while and I was very impressed with what the author did with these books. The characters were all unique, the plot line itself was unique, and I would very much love to see this story on the big screen!

You/Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes

Β 

The year is far from being over, but these two books have become my favourite reads of 2016 thus far! Let me tell you first, how I bought this book (the first installment: YOU) on a whim. I was not at all intending to buy a book that day, let alone buy a book I had never even heard of prior to my visit to the bookstore. But oh man, I was STUNNED! After I finished the first book, I immediately went on NetGalley and requested the second book, Hidden Bodies, because there was just no way I could wait two more months to find out what happened! And to my luck, my request was approved! I read it in two sittings. I would LOVE to see how Joe’s story would be adapted as a movie. Not only do I think this would do great on the big screen, I think there’s also potential of it becoming a household TV show. Dexter Morgan? America’s favourite serial killer? Who’s that!? Meet Joe Goldberg! (I still very much love Dexter, don’t worry, lol. The two aren’t really comparable, they’re both unique in their own way.)

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Okay please don’t judge me on this one! Lol I’m aware a lot of people weren’t impressed with what they did with the movie adaptations for the Percy Jackson book series. I haven’t read the books nor have I seen all the movies (I’ve only seen the first one). With that being said, maybe Rick Riordan fans would rather they leave alone Magnus Chase? So, I guess, let’s just hope that if they do decide to turn this into a movie, that they do a good job with it. It was such a hilarious read. I was laughing at every other turn of the page and although the story itself is already very vivd, I just really want it to come to life even more!

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

I honestly don’t even know where to begin with this one. This is on my top 5 list of favourite reads of 2016 so far. This is the book that got me wanting to read more historical fiction. It was just so…educational, moving, impressive, vivid, everything I didn’t think I wanted in a book! The feeling that I got from reading this book is simply indescribable. You’d have to read it for yourself to understand. If this were to be adapted as a movie, I think it would appeal to so many audiences. Who wouldn’t want to get a glimpse on the last person EVER to be put on death row in Iceland? That’s pretty big, if you ask me. Can someone please make this movie happen…


Did I pick one that you would want to be turned into a movie/TV series as well?! What are your 5 picks? Let me know! There are so many amazing books out there that I think would do amazing on the big screen! (Considering the director doesn’t completely butcher the story, though. Lol.)

3 comments

  1. YES! Tim Burton would do an incredible job on The Night Circus!!! I’m still quite hesitant about book-to-movie or book-to-tv adaptations because I’m always worried they’ll mess it up, especially since The Night Circus is one of my favourite books I’ve read in a while!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I 100% agree! I always get nervous every time I hear that a certain book is being turned into a movie or a TV series… Because for some reason, it’s more than half the time that the producers/directors butcher the plot line! But Tim Burton seems to be very good at making changes to the plot or characters that STILL works.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

