Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Rating: ★★★★★

Summary from Goodreads:

Sydney is living in an idyllic bubble—she’s a dedicated student with a steady job on the side. She lives with her best friend, has a great boyfriend, and the music coming from the balcony opposite hers is fast becoming the soundtrack to her life. But when Sydney finds out her boyfriend is cheating on her, the bubble bursts. The mysterious and attractive man behind the music, Ridge, gives Sydney hope that she can move on and they begin to write songs together. But moving on is harder than she expects, Sydney can only hope… Maybe someday… Colleen Hoover draws you in to this passionate tale of music, love and betrayal…


“I have no idea how or if I even deserve him, but there’s one thing I know for sure. As long as he’s a part of it, I’ll never live a life of mediocrity.”

Aside from knowing that music is involved in this book, I went into this completely blind. I think I have unintentionally made it a point to go into Colleen Hoover’s books blind. Or maybe I just trust her so much as a writer that I don’t even need to read the summary telling me what it’s about. I don’t think I’ve been able to say that about an author, let alone a romance author! I know this is only my third Colleen Hoover read, but I have yet to come across a book of hers that I didn’t enjoy. Also, did I mention I finished this whole book in ONE sitting?! That seems to be a thing with me when it comes to Colleen Hoover’s books.

Trust me when I say that each and every one of CoHo’s books are unique on their own, in their own way. And that’s what I admire the most about CoHo as an author. She’s able to make you explore every single one of your feelings as you turn each page until you’re left telling yourself “I didn’t know it was possible to feel this many emotions all at once, in a short amount of time.”

I especially really loved the humour aspect that Colleen threw in this particular book. After reading her books “Confess” and “Ugly Love,” I’ve noticed that “seriousness” and maturity seems to be her ongoing theme for her books. This one, though, was a little more than lightly sprinkled with some entertaining humour and a little harmless childish ongoing banter between the characters without making it seem like they’re trying too hard. When you read a CoHo book, you know you’re in for another familiar roller coaster ride without the slightest clue where the twists and turns are going to occur.

What I love about all of the CoHo books I’ve read so far, is her ability as an author to make me feel as though I’m LIVING the story being told in the book myself. I don’t feel as though I’m an outsider. Her characters are always so well developed that it allows me to really feel like I’m part of the story. She makes it easy to connect with and become attached to her characters. I can’t stress enough how critical this is to better one’s reading experience.

“I never realized how powerful desire could be. It consumes every part of you, enhancing your senses by a million.”

I also can’t (and probably won’t) go on enough about just how unique this book itself is, so I’m going to make it quick. Did you guys know that there are actual songs out on YouTube to accompany the songs mentioned in this book? I’ve never listened to songs with lyrics while reading a book but this time was an absolute exception. Listening to the songs by Griffin Peterson just made everything seem so much more real. I was able to feel every emotions much deeper. I highly, highly suggest you guys listen to the music as the respective songs come up in the book. You won’t regret it.

“I’m convinced that people come across others in life whose souls are completely compatible with their own. Some refer to them as soul mates. Some refer to it as true love.”

There was no way I was going to give this book any less than 5/5 stars. It deserves all the stars. I am once again impressed with Colleen Hoover and her graceful talent as an author. Cannot wait to read more of her work! “November 9,” coming up next!


One comment

Leave a Reply

