Preparing For Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon

Hello friends! First of all, I want to apologize for how long it’s been since I have posted on my blog. I’ve just been so swamped with personal things I barely had any time to even think of what content I wanted to put out for you guys. It’s alright though, I’m here, and I’m back!

As you may or may not already know, I will be participating in Dewey’s 24 hour readathon that will be taking place this Saturday, April 23rd. It is just as the name of the readathon suggests: a whole 24 hours long. You guys can find out more about it here. On the website, you will find the start times for your timezone, the prizes that will be given out, etc. Now without further ado, let’s talk about how I’m going to prepare for this intimidating readathon! Hopefully, those of you who are participating also, will find these tips useful! (Keep in mind that this is my first readathon that I’m participating in)


1.) Get a good night’s sleep! This is obviously going to be very important if you’re going to try to read as much as you can for a whole 24 hours. If your mind and body are both well rested, then you’re more apt to be alert and motivated to keep reading!

2.) Pick out the books that you want to read for the readathon ahead of time. I personally think it would be helpful to have more books picked out than little amount of books picked out. This way, you won’t feel stuck with a book that you may not actually be interested in when all is said and done.

3.) Coffee (or tea, whichever your preferred drink is). Need I say more?

4.) Have incentives prepared! For example, for every 100 pages that you read, perhaps you can give yourself a piece (or 10, LOL) of chocolate. Who doesn’t love chocolate? Come forward if you don’t. Let’s have a talk.

5.) Give yourself a break from reading before the readathon. Since you will be trying to read as much as you can in one day, it might be smart to take the day off before the readathon takes place. This way, your brain isn’t too tired to read the day of the readathon. I personally am going to not read anything at all this Friday (April 22nd) before the readathon starts.

6.) I sure hope you signed up to be cheered on! I know I did. I want to be motivated and cheered on while going through this readathon. IF you didn’t sign up to be cheered on through Twitter, then perhaps you could have someone be physically there with you to help you push through. A best friend, a significant other, a dog, a plant…


Are you feeling prepared yet?! Yes? No? Well I hope you can at least put to use one of the tips I’ve listed above.

If you’re participating in Dewey’s 24 hour readathon, let me know somehow! Perhaps we can cheer each other on πŸ™‚ the more the merrier! Also let me know YOUR methods of preparing for this readathon. I’m genuinely curious…


7 comments

  1. This is my third time participating and these are all really good tips. I like the idea of rewarding myself for every 100 pages read. I’m totally going to do that!

    My two tips are 1) plan your meals ahead of time. That way you know what you will be eating and won’t need to interrupt your reading to decide what to eat. Following along with this — have good and inspiring snacks on hand to keep your reading energy up.

    2) Don’t be afraid to ditch a book if it’s not working for you. My first readathon was slightly ruined because I’d saved my book club book for that day and I really hated it. But I had to keep reading it because I was having book club the next day.

    Happy Readathon!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh I didn’t even think about planning my meals ahead of time! That’s super smart! That may have gone over my head because when I get super into a book I’m reading, I forget to eat…(or do anything else, really. LOL!) But thank you for your tips!

      Like

  2. Oooh this looks like fun! I’m not sure how my Friday will go, but maybe I’ll give this a shot! I definitely need a readathon to get through my April TBR. I’m too good at procrastinating to be productive!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am participating in the Dewey’s 24 hour readathon for the second time rather like the first cuz the first one wasn’t successful AT all. I didn’t even read any book and fell into a slump. But hoping it goes well this time as I have picked my books out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, it sucks that the first time wasn’t successful. But I hope it works out better this time! If you ever need motivation or just someone to cheer you on, I’m here for support! πŸ˜›

      Like

Leave a Reply

