What I’m Reading for Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon is fast approaching! I mean, it’s literally tomorrow (April 23rd). I made a blog post just yesterday about how I was going to prepare myself (you can read said blog post here), and one of my tips was to choose the books I plan to read ahead of time. So let’s just get right ahead to the books I plan to read for this readathon!


1.) The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

I thought perhaps reading a non-fiction would be a safe choice since I personally breeze through them a lot faster than, say, a fantasy book.

2.) In Praise of Wolves by R.D. Lawrence

Again, another non-fiction. And it’s literally just about wolves. I’m all for it.

3.) Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

This one I particularly chose for a couple reasons. One: I’ve been meaning to read this for such a long time it’s a shame I haven’t picked it up, really. Two: it’s short.

4.) Very LeFreak by Rachel Cohn

I reckon this would be a light and easy read since it’s contemporary. So, why not? I’m not sure if I’ll actually end up getting to it when the day comes but I want to keep it as an option anyway

5.) Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Again, another light contemporary read (I’m hoping anyway). I have this as an ebook and I plan to read this when it’s night time. I usually like to read my ebooks in bed just before falling asleep.

6.) Ghostly by Audrey Niffenegger

This is a collection of short ghost stories. I’ve had this book for a while now and I’ve really been meaning to get to it for the longest time. So I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to read this. I think it would be perfect for when I need a break in between books. I could just read one story from it as a “break” from the other books.

7.) Everything’s Eventual by Stephen King

This is another collection of short stories from the great King himself. Again, this is just to perhaps give me “breaks” from the other books. Not sure if I’ll actually end up getting to it, but I’m keeping it as an option nonetheless.

8.) A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Okay let’s be honest… This is a massive one and I highly doubt I’ll be able to read much of it. But I do plan to get further into it at least during the readathon (I’m only on the prologue. Come on, Leslie. Get it together!)


By no means am I saying that I plan to read ALL of these books during the readathon. Like I’ve said in my previous post about preparing for this, I wanted to have as many options as I can so I will have a variety to choose from when/if I get tired of one of the books. If you’re participating in the readathon, what are the books you plan on reading? Also, do you have the day off during this readathon?! I know some people have work and such, so they won’t actually get to participate as much. Let me know somehow! I’m super excited πŸ™‚

Untitled

One comment

Leave a Reply

