April Wrap-Up

This month was yet another amazing reading month for me! Not only did I read a good amount of books (again), I also got to do a buddy read for the very first time with two lovely ladies, Sophia and Carolina! But that’s not even it! I was able to participate in my very first read-a-thon this month as well, as you all probably know since I have made multiple blog posts about it (Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon).

You’ll notice I had 19 books on my TBR list this month, mainly because I knew I was going to be participating in Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon. I, however, only managed to read 15 books all in all. Which, of course, isn’t bad at all! I’m actually quite impressed with myself for being able to read that many books even with all the moving I’ve been occupied with.

In my last month’s wrap-up, I read more ebooks (14) than physical books (3), and one audiobook. This month, though, I was able to read more physical books than ebooks. I read a total of 15 books. Six of them were ebooks, and the rest were physical books! Woo! Go Leslie!

Now let’s just get to the wrap-up, shall we?


eBooks:

Maybe Someday

1.) Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover: ★★★★★
Loved this one! You can read my review here.

227463

2.) A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess: ★★★★☆
I’ve got to admit, I almost gave up on this book. I was having such a difficult time following through because of the slang used. But am I ever glad I kept reading! No explanation from me will do this book justice. You need to just read it to understand why it’s such an admired literary piece.

907781

3.) The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison: ★★★★★
I have never read such a beautiful, very poetic book that touches on serious social issues. If you’ve read the summary, you’ll know this book is about a little girl who—being unhappy with the colour of her skin and her overall appearance—prays for the bluest eyes. This is such an important book and it deserved no less than a 5 star rating. Please read it at least once in your life.

537525

4.) The Awakening by Kate Chopin: ★★★★☆
Want to read a book that was considered controversial when it was first published, but is now widely admired? Read this. You rebel. LOL. I don’t want to say much about it since it is such a short book. Just…read it…okay? Okay.

25111004

5.) November 9 by Colleen Hoover: ★★★★☆
Not necessarily one of my favourites of Colleen Hoover’s. But…oh…what? It still got 4/5 stars? Well, of course. Because even though I found (a LOT of) parts of it were problematic, I still very much enjoyed reading it. Let’s just say that if someone came up to me asking which Colleen Hoover book they should start with, I wouldn’t recommend this particular one.

The Glass Castle

6.) The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls: ★★★★★
This is one of the two books I read for Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon. You can read my review for it here.


Physical books:

21473404

7.) The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan: ★★★★★
I mean, who has read this and NOT liked it? …well if you find them I don’t want to hear. Lol.

29452029

8.) The Paladin by J.M. Storin: ★★★★☆ (4.5)
You can read my review here!

9.) Good Neighbors by Ryan David Jahn: ★★★☆☆
I had such high expectations for this, but this book was a rather disappointing read. My review for it is here.

438492

10.) The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket: ★★★★☆
How did you guys even read this series as kids?! Count Olaf stresses me out. AS AN ADULT! I would have been mortified as a kid and it probably would have scarred me. To those who read this as a kid…are you guys doing okay? LOL.

17830958

11.) The Room by Jonas Karlsson: ★★★☆☆
This book was just not for me. You can read my review for it here.

26025580

12.) The Grownup by Gillian Flynn: ★★★☆☆
Personally, this book wasn’t as bad as everybody said it was. My review is here.

5886881

13.) Dark Places by Gillian Flynn: ★★★★★
I’m actually surprised I never wrote a review for this?! I suppose I was just too stunned to even think about writing one. I loved it though. A solid 5/5 stars from me. However, I think Sharp Objects was still a better read compared to this. I know people have said they loved this one the best out of all of Gillian Flynn’s books. This was also the book that I got to buddy read with Sophia and Carolina. You can click on their names to see their review!

51496

14.) Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson: ★★★★☆
This is the other book that I read for Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon. It got 4/5 stars for me for now, but I’m honestly considering rereading it. When I read this, it was late into the night already and I was EXHAUSTED due to the read-a-thon. So I don’t think I appreciated it as much as I would have if I had read it when I was actually more than just half awake.

11788809

15.) A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin: ★★★★★
This has easily become one of my favourite books of all time. I cannot believe I waited this long to start reading it. I only have good things to say about this masterpiece. I loved everything about it; the world, the characters, THE FOOD! I felt present in the plot line with every single page, and that’s usually difficult with such big books like this. It definitely exceeded my expectations. I will forever be recommending this book to everyone… You can read more of my thoughts on here.


Phew! Another month gone! Don’t even ask me how I managed to read this many books in a month. My answer will always stay the same: I am a walking zombie because what is sleep?!

6 comments

  1. Wow! It looks like you had such a great reading month. It’s even better, because it appears you actually, for the most part, enjoyed all the books too! Great wrap up, and I think I’ve just added some more books to my TBR! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha no kidding! When I was gathering up all the physical books I read for April, I was missing one and couldn’t figure out which one it was…it was Dark Places… LOL! I was like…did I really read this just recently?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

