Review: You Had One Job! by Beverly L. Jenkins

You Had One Job! by Beverly L. Jenkins

*Click the link or image above to pre-order a copy! It releases July 12th, 2016!*


My Rating: ★★★★★

My Review/thoughts:

I. Could not. Stop. Laughing! I have never seen a more absurd book with a compilation of bizarre and absurd mistakes. Yet I enjoyed every single bit of it.

I think what made these funny were definitely the captions. Were it not for the captions, I think these photos would not have been as amusing or entertaining. Here are some examples of that:

IMG_0114

If it were just the photo alone, I would have just scrolled past this photo if I came across it on the internet. I probably would have also said “I don’t get it…” But thanks to Beverly Jenkins, that caption was just so funny I had to share it with my boyfriend and show him his future.

IMG_0118

Same, vehicle, same. I feel you. Totally.

IMG_0115

The caption for this made me laugh a little bit longer than it should have. Thanks, Beverly.

Some were even funnier because they were just blatant silly mistakes that you can’t believe some people actually got away with such absurdity! There is something humorous about simple mistakes. Here are some examples:

IMG_0120

This made me think of the Saw movies. Anyone? (Seriously, how did anybody get away with this?!)

IMG_0121

This mistake was just plain and simple. And stupid. So it’s funny. And the caption made it even funnier. Again, thanks, Beverly.

And for my absolute favourite that made me laugh a little too loud for a little too long:

IMG_0110

The photo alone is hilarious, but that caption…?! Brilliant.

Being someone who’s constantly active in the social media world, I have seen many of these “You Had One Job” meme and I never found them all that funny. Some, of course, were worthy of a giggle. But Beverly’s idea of compiling all of these and adding her own little captions to them definitely made these memes all the more entertaining.

This deserves nothing less than a 5 star rating.

*ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*


One comment

Leave a Reply

