Review: The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson #4) by Rick Riordan

The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

*Click on either the photo or link above to read the synopsis or purchase a copy of your own!*


My Rating: ★★★★☆

My Review/thoughts:

Another Percy Jackson series book down, which means another book review that must be done. First and foremost, I am surprised that I am still into this series as much as I am. To begin with, I’m not very big on reading series in general. I seem to have a difficult time keeping up with series that has more than three books. I was worried that I was going to lose interest by the third book (which I think is still the best book out of all the books in this series so far, by the way).

I heard from a few people that this book supposedly is the best out of all the books in the series, but personally, I would have to disagree. Now I’m not saying it was horrendous or anything; I just don’t think it topped the third book, The Titan’s Curse, the way I had expected it to. I still very much enjoyed reading this book and in fact finished it in a total of two days.

I have mentioned in my previous review of the third book that the character growth and development are very apparent and I really appreciated that part. I’m just glad to say that that stays consistent in this instalment. I’m quite impressed with all the things that these main characters have had to go through. I truly do feel like I have  grown right alongside them. I feel as though they are real life friends that I have been supporting throughout each and every single one of their quests ever since they were 12 years old. I love it when a book is able to pull you right in and make you feel as though you are not just reading the story, but that you are part of the story and an essential one at that. I won’t even mention the cute little love triangle between Percy and Annabeth and the new character introduced. Also, Grover and Juniper?! I thought the addition of that love interest was quite a shocking touch, but definitely one that I enjoyed reading about!

It was also nice to see the gods (particularly Poseidon and Dionysus) getting more involved in a very positive and touching way. I won’t say more about them in this review in fear of spoilers, but you can trust me when I say that those moments in the book may have been quick, but they were nothing short of sweet.

I am almost reluctant to start the last book in the series… I don’t want this story to end just yet (luckily there’s still another series with the main characters, The Heroes of Olympus). The way this instalment ended made my heart leap. When Rick Riordan finished off the other three previous books, they didn’t have much of a “cliffhanger,” I would say. I personally think that if you read any of the three previous book, you could end there and not read the following one. You still get a good sense of the ending and the story itself particular for that book feels concluded. The Battle of the Labyrinth, though, was different. It ended in a way where you know you must read the last book… Some may say that’s a cheap or unprofessional trick to get the readers to read the last instalment, but I say it was brilliant.

As much as I want to prolong this series, I cannot wait to finally start the last book and see how everything gets tied together. I just hope the ending doesn’t disappoint!


One comment

Leave a Reply

