Review: Diary of Anna the Girl Witch by Max Candee

 

Diary of Anna the Girl Witch 1: Foundling Witch (Volume 1) by Max Candee

*click on either the image or link above to purchase your own copy*


Synopsis from Goodreads:

Set in the Swiss countryside, “Diary of Anna the Girl Witch” blends ancient folklore with a classic coming of age tale about a young witch on the brink of womanhood.

Anna Sophia has always known she was different. She just didn’t know how different until now. On the eve of her 13th birthday — in the orphanage where she’s spent most of her childhood — Anna wonders about her past. She never knew her parents, doesn’t even know where she came from. All she has to go by is an unbelievable fairy tale her uncle used to tell: that she was found as a baby, tucked among a pack of bear cubs in the wilds of Russia.

To make matters even more complicated, Anna has discovered that she can see and do things that no one else can. So far, she’s kept her powers a secret, and they remain strange and frightening even to her. It’s only when Anna receives a letter from her mother — a mother she will never meet — that she discovers some of the truths about her past, and begins to uncover the possibilities in her future.

As Anna continues to learn more about her secret abilities, she finds out that her neighbors are hiding something of their own: a plot to harm Anna and her friends. Can Anna Sophia use her newfound supernatural powers to stop them? Can she fight back, without endangering her own soul? And maybe, just maybe, is her own secret tied up with theirs?


My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5)

My Review/ thoughts:

Diary of Anna the Girl Witch was so full of adventure from start to finish. We get to follow Anna Sophia on her journey into finally becoming thirteen years of age as she slowly but surely learns about who she really is.

“I was old enough to get treated like an adult sometimes, but still young enough to play silly games with my friends.”

Anna Sophia was nothing short of an admirable character. She was genuine, and definitely made me nostalgic for when I was making my way into my teenage years. Often times I find that middle grade novels are awkward when it comes to the characters: they’re either too mature, or too “immature” for their age. Anna, though, I believe was a very balanced character. She was mature enough to know right from wrong, but still learning to differentiate between true good and evil. She had the [believable] innocence of a thirteen year old without being too absolutely clueless of the things that were going on around her. This makes Anna Sophia a very memorable and outstanding character in my opinion.

“The line between good and bad wasn’t always clear.”

This was an amazing coming-of-age story because while it was fun to read, it had a lot of valuable life lessons that are fit and useful not only for children, but for grown adult readers too! I found myself often highlighting parts of the book that really caught my attention. I enjoyed the fact that although this book is meant for middle graders, it did not shy away from bringing to light the things that are bad in this world. I appreciated that this book didn’t seem to coddle its readers from the harsh truth of some things. I never thought I’d say this, but this book seems like it had confidence in its readers.

“Darkness and evil are easy. Happiness takes work. Perhaps most people don’t have the will or the energy to keep the shadows away.”

As for the plot itself, it was very easy to read and everything seemed to flow very nicely. I loved all the magical elements as well. It was a fun adventure reading about Anna discover herself, her powers, and just exactly what she’s capable of. It truly felt like I was physically following her on her journey to self discovery. Now that all is said and done, I do have to admit that I am interested in continuing on with this series. I do really look forward to getting my hands on the second book so I can be a part of more of Anna Sophia’s journey. I would recommend this to both young and old readers! It was a fun and quick read!

*copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review* 


2 comments

Leave a Reply

