May Wrap-Up

Wow, 5 months of 2016 down already?! Where is the time honestly going? It’s crazy to even just think about the fact that it’s been well over a month since I joined the book blogging community. Anyway, I need to get to the point of this post already before I ramble on.

This month, I managed to read 29 books… Okay, okay, I know that sounds ridiculous. But that’s only because more than half of what I read this month were graphic novels, comic books, and mangas. I go through them really quickly! I also used NetGalley a lot this month. I made a discussion post about being back on NetGalley and the pros and cons of being a NetGalley member. If you missed that blog post, you can check it out here!

With all of that being said, I’m going to divide this wrap-up a little differently this time. I’m going to divide them up like so: NetGalley ebooks, regular ebooks, physical books, and then mangas/comic books. You can click on either the image or the link for each book to read the synopsis and/or purchase your own copy!

PS, I’m an affiliate with Amazon and Bookdepository, so it helps me when you guys click on my links and purchase your books via my links! ☺️

Alright, let’s just get started!


NetGalley ebooks:

 

1.) Straight James / Gay James by James Franco: ★★☆☆☆
This was, uh…rather interesting. You can check out my review here.

2.) Magic Words by Edward Field: ★★★★☆
This was a (super) quick but fun read! It was a lot shorter than I expected and perhaps wanted to be, but it was still fun nonetheless!

3.) The Roommate Book by Becky Simpson: ★★★☆☆
Absolutely adore the illustrations in this one! You can read my review here. (Releases Aug. 2nd, 2016)

4.) The Bear Who Couldn’t Sleep by Caroline Nastro: ★★★★☆
I read this to/with my 5 year old little brother and we BOTH enjoyed it! You can read my little review on Goodreads here. (Releases Oct. 1st, 2016)

5.) Zen Master Poems by Dick Allen: ★★★☆☆
You can read my review here. (Releases Aug. 23rd, 2016)

6.) Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne: ★★★☆☆
Probably should have read the original first before diving into this one… You can read my review from Goodreads here.

7.) Love: The Lionby Frederic Brrémaud: ★★★☆☆
This graphic novel made me feel like I was watching a Disney documentary film. There weren’t even any words involved. Absolutely just all graphic. Which made it difficult at times to follow. But it was still worth it! (Releases July 12th, 2016)

8.) You Had One Job! by Beverly Jenkins: ★★★★★
It doesn’t even matter what kind of books you love, this one is for everyone! Made me laugh so much! You can read my review here. (Releases July 12th, 2016)

9.) The Chief: Mistahimaskwa (Tales from Big Spirit) by David Robertson: ★★★★★
Very educational and I was pleased to say the least! You can read my quick review from Goodreads here.

10.) Camp Midnight by Steven T. Seagle: ★★★★★
I got a sample of this from Free Comic Book Day, and after reading the sample, I knew I HAD to request it from NetGalley. You can read my quick little review from Goodreads here.

11.) Diary of Anna the Girl Witch by Max Candee: ★★★★☆
Amazing coming-of-age story! You can read my review here.

Regular ebooks:

12.) Crank by Ellen Hopkins: ★★★★★
This easily became one of my favourite books ever. The format that it was written in was just so unique. Read my full review here!

image

13.) Too Late by Colleen Hoover: ★★★★☆
Be warned: this is not your typical Colleen Hoover book. There are a lot of triggers in this, and I definitely understand it’s not for everybody. My full review is here!

14.) Confessions by Kanae Minato: ★★★★☆
This was definitely a brain work-out of a thriller book! I wish there were more Kanae Minato books that were translated to English! Read my full review here!

Physical books:

15.) The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan: ★★★★☆
Wasn’t as good as the first one, but still very much enjoyed it. You can read my review here.

16.) The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan: ★★★★★
My absolute favourite one out of all the books in this series (I have yet to read the last one though…) Read my review here!

17.) The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan: ★★★★☆
You can read my full review here.

18.) The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde: ★★★★★
I loved everything about this book! I loved the philosophical views, and the questions that it posed about life and youth. So far my favourite classic piece!

19.) Snowblind by Ragnar Jonasson: ★★★★☆
I badly wanted to love this book enough to give it a whopping 5 stars out of 5. But there were some things I would have liked differently. I thought the plot moved a little too slow for my own personal liking when it comes to crime fiction. There also weren’t enough “action.” I suppose that’s a given, seeing as how it’s set in a very small town.

20.) Boy Band by Jacqueline E. Smith: ★★★★☆
Read my full review here!

Mangas/Graphic novels:

21, 21, 23.) One Punch Man (Vol. 1-3) by ONE: ★★★★★
You can read my review for all three together here!


24, 25, 26.) Dengeki Daisy (Vol. 1-3) Kyousuke Motomi: ★★★★★
I gave the first volume 5/5 stars, the second volume 4/5 stars, and the third volume 5/5 stars. This was such a cute read I couldn’t help but smile and even tear a little bit at some parts. I’m such a sucker for these kinds of mangas! I wish they’d turn this into an anime.

23362832

27.) Detective Honeybear (Issue #1) by Alex Zalben: ★★★★☆
This was so adorable! It got difficult to read sometimes though because of the way Detective Honeybear talks. But he’s cute…so it’s fine…

28.) The Wicked + The Divine (Vol. 1) by Kieron Gillen: ★★★★☆
Very unique story! I’m not very familiar with all the mythological gods which in turn made me a little confused about some of the characters. Other than that, I can see myself definitely getting obsessed with the rest of this series. Already can’t wait to pick up the 2nd volume!

29.) Paper Girls (Vol. 1) Brian K. Vaughan: ★★★★☆
There’s a lot of potential for this series and I’m super excited to see where it goes with the next volume!


Well that was quite lengthy… But I’m so satisfied with my reads this month! May was honestly just a really good month in terms of all the books I read AND my book haul! Have you guys read any of these? Any recommendations based off of the ones that I liked this month?! (Preferably more graphic novels. I’m really getting into them!)

If you made it this far into this post, then thank you! For putting up with my crazy wrap-up 😛 How many books did you manage to read this month? Which one was your favourite? If I had to choose my favourite read out of all the 29 books I read, I think I’d definitely choose The Picture of Dorian Gray! Crank is a close second. I just really loved the way it was written.

Again, thank you guys so much for putting up with my crazy wrap-ups every month! ❤ I mean, my brain is a little fried from all the reading I did this month…but I REGRET NOTHING!


9 comments

  1. Oh my goshhh, you had such an amazing reading month!!! Teach me your secrets 😂 I’m really glad to see you enjoyed the Percy Jackson books and Camp Midnight! They’re some of my favourites. The Wicked + The Divine is so good too,

    Like

Leave a Reply

