Review: The Many by Nathan Field

The Many by Nathan Field

*click on the image or link above to purchase your own copy!*


My Rating: ★★★☆☆

My Review/thoughts:

If you grew up with a sibling, no matter how much you bantered with each other or “disliked” each other, I think it would be safe to say you’d know if there was anything “off” about them. This was especially the case with Karl. After Karl’s sister—Stacey—comes home from a blind date, he notices something extremely odd about her. Stacey seems cold, distant, and suspiciously nasty. When Karl sees Stacey again after a few months apart, it seems as though everything about Stacey has returned back to normal. But Karl could not have been more wrong. Stacey has turned violent and her mental state has become more concerning. Not being able to take any more of it, Karl seeks out the man Stacey went on a blind date with, believing he has something to do with his sister’s mental state. Karl, however, was none the wiser that he might have just walked right into a trap. 

When I read the synopsis for The Many, I was sold right away. It had so much potential. Unfortunately for me, I don’t think it lived up to the bar that I set for it. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but something is just missing from this novel. It didn’t feel…complete? To me anyway. There were a lot of holes in the plot and I feel like it could have been more carefully crafted and developed. Not only did the plot let me down a bit, I also found it a little difficult to care for the characters. It took me well over 100 pages until I finally started to connect with the people I was reading about as they just sort of fell flat and felt two dimensional to me.

Despite there being a lot of questions unresolved in this book, I still very much enjoyed reading it. The concept was unlike anything I’ve read before, and that’s what kept me going. Even though the characters were difficult to connect with, watching the story unfold was still very entertaining.

I don’t have much else to say about this book, but I can say that although I am only giving it three stars out of five, I am still interested in reading the following books if there will be any more (which I think there should be more, especially with the amount of questions we are left with by the end of it). On the contrary, do not let my rating dissuade you from giving The Many a try. Like I said, even though the characters fell flat for me, the premise was very unique nonetheless. Give it a go if you want something a little laid back but also very suspenseful at the same time.


*copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest review*

One comment

Leave a Reply

