August Wrap-Up

Okay okay, I know I missed the past two months for wrap-up’s, but hey, I’m here again now and that’s all that matters, right? Right…? Lol.

I feel like we (meaning us bookworms who do monthly wrap-up’s) say this all the time, but wow! Another month gone by! Phew. I’m not complaining though, now that we’re finally transitioning out of Summer and into Fall, my favourite season! Before I end up rambling on about my excitement for Fall, let’s just get to the wrap-up part. I’ve had such an amazing reading month this August and I couldn’t be happier about it! I read a total of 10 books. I read 4 physical books, and 6 ebooks. Let’s start with the physical books.


Physical books:

1.) The Happiness Effect by Donna Tart★★★★★
This was such a powerful and educational read. I definitely recommend to everyone! If you are or even were a social media participant, there is no excuse for you not to at least try and read this. You’ll learn so much. This will be coming out February 2017, but you can read my review for it here.

2.) Monstress Volume 1: Awakening by Marjorie Liu★★★★☆ (4.5)
Steampunk. Horror. Fantasy. Do you like one of these genres? How about all of them altogether? Perfect. Then this graphic novel should do the trick for you. You can read my full review for it here.

3.) Our demons, best friends (Half of Me) by Diana T. Scott★★★★☆
If you’re someone like me who aren’t too into romance books, but are looking for a quick and easy read anyway, give this one a go. I don’t usually like heavy romance in my books, but this one had such a perfect balance I’m sure you’ll enjoy it even if romance isn’t typically your go-to genre! You can read my full review for it here.

4.) The Leaving by Tara Altebrando★★★★★
This quickly became one of my top 5 favourite reads of 2016 so far. To say the least, this made me a fan of Tara Altebrando’s writing. If you’re reading this, Tara, I really hope you write (many) more mystery thrillers in the future *pointed stare* I will be waiting. You can read my full review for it here.


Ebooks:

5.) The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis★★★★★
This one was another favourite of 2016 for me! Beth Lewis writes so beautifully. It left me with such a huge book hangover. Check out my review for it here.

6.) The Trouble with Women by Jacky Fleming:  ★★★★★
This was a very quick read, you can definitely finish this in one sitting. In this case, I didn’t really feel the need to write a full on review for it here on my blog, but I do have a quick and short review up for it on Goodreads (you can read it here). I very much enjoyed its unique tongue-in-cheek humour!

7.) The Many by Nathan Field★★★☆
Not necessarily one of the best mystery/thrillers I’ve read, but it was still interesting and unique in my opinion. I just wish it wasn’t so underdeveloped. It had a lot of potential. You can read my review for it here.

8.) Audition by Ryu Murakami★★★☆
After hearing one of my favourite booktubers (Katie from ChapterStackss) talk about Ryu Murakami, I decided to give Audition a try. Unfortunately, it didn’t meet the expectations I set out for it. While it was a slight disappointment, I did still enjoy Murakami’s writing style and still do definitely look forward to reading more of his works.

9.) Y: The Last Man, Vol. 3 by Brian K. Vaughan★★★★☆
Really weird concept, but amazing nonetheless! Otherwise I wouldn’t have stuck it out for 3 volumes, right? Right. Lol. I think once I’ve finished the entire series, I’ll do a review then. I just can’t bring myself to review every volume… Sorry y’all!

10.) The Universe of Us by Lang Leav★★★★★
If you’re into poetry and you have not yet read any of Lang Leav’s work, then what are you doing?! Lang Leav continues to write beautifully about love and loss, combining the two together in perfect harmony. She knows just how to stir up emotions—and is truly the best I know at doing it. This poetry book is another masterpiece by Leav. Be prepared to face the emotions you are too afraid to admit to yourself aloud. She will definitely take you into another universe with her words. One you’ll never want to leave.


And that’s it! If you made it this far into the post, then a thanks is in order! Thank you so so so much for supporting my blog and what I do. It truly does mean a lot to me. You don’t even have to comment or like or whatever, your presence/visits alone brings me enough gratitude. I hope you guys continue to support me in the following months where I will be a little bit busier and might not be as active!

I love you all and I hope you also had yourself an amazing reading month last month. And if not, then I hope this month of September is more of your month! Let me know which books you enjoyed last month and what books you’re looking forward to this month! xo

One comment

Leave a Reply

