Review: Lumberjanes Vol. 1 by Noelle Stevenson

Lumberjanes Vol. 1: Beware The Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson

*click on the image or link above to purchase your own copy*


My Rating: ★★★★★

My Review/thoughts:

Meet Jo, April, Mall, Molly and Ripley. These are the five rad and bad-ass main characters we are introduced to in Lumberjanes, who are all just wanting to have an amazing, butt-kicking summer experience. Together, these five are about to face a very magical adventure full of monstrous creatures, supernatural critters, quests, and more!

One thing I know that other people can probably (or most likely) agree with, is that one of the most important parts of a book is its introduction. When I browse the bookstore or the library, the way I pick which book I’m going to take home with me is by reading the first page. Right off the bat, Lumberjanes had my undivided attention. The introduction alone made me want to be a Lumberjane already and I hadn’t even met the characters yet! I was also taken aback by the vibrancy of the illustration. I think it’s a given for graphic novels to have capturing artwork to be able to reel its readers in. And believe me when I say that Lumberjanes did just this for me.

No matter what type of woman you are, young or old (or no matter what gender you are, even, to be quite honest), you will sure find one character you will relate to in this graphic novel! Each and every one of the five girls have their own distinct characteristics and personalities that separates them apart from the rest of the group. This, in turn, also makes it super easy to find a connection and attachment to the characters. None of them fell flat for me, as they were all such three dimensional characters. Personally, I was able to relate so much to April. Halfway through the book, I had made my decision that she was my favourite character. Much like myself, April is the tiny one in the group, but she doesn’t let this stop her from being just as physically and mentally strong as the rest of her pals, if not more! A job well done to Noelle Stevenson for this, indeed!

Lastly but most definitely not the least, I was very impressed with the representation in this graphic novel. I cannot stress enough how important representation is. Especially in the world of literature. I love the way Noelle Stevenson was able to break any gender stereotypes. For instance, physical strength should not always be attributed to boys, just the same way femininity should not automatically always be attributed to girls. I am also all about books that celebrate any kind of girl power. Not only are these types of books critically important to be a part of the literature world, they all almost always turn into amazing and empowering reads in the end!

To put it much shortly, Lumberjanes would be a great read for any young girls still finding their sense of self and worth, or even fully grown adults like myself! Lumberjanes is definitely one of those novels that has no age restriction. If you are someone who can appreciate adventurous and empowering stories, then Lumberjanes will be perfect for you without a doubt.


One comment

Leave a Reply

